Crossed 20,000 views on this blog today! Aug 22, 2012

20,084 to be precise at the time I write this. To be frank, I didn’t know or think of what this meant until I recently saw someone on twitter getting all excited about crossing 10,000 views. I swiftly looked at my WordPress stats page and saw a figure of nineteen thousand something…then I began to get excited about this.

My attitude towards my blog is mostly to churn it out everyday and be true to what is top of the mind on each day. But I will not deny writing everyday has done wonders to my self-confidence. Page reads and comments, likes on Facebook do drive me to write. No, I do not see likes as a sign of loyalty by my friends. I am lucky to know people who will actually like only what they like. But its given me a lot of insights on people. I am often pleasantly surprised by reactions. For instance, I didn’t know a certain friend felt so deeply about parenting, or another someone loved music so much and was indeed a singer herself!

Many a time, I am corrected by a reader for factual errors or judgements made on erroneous or one-sided information. That kind of reaction gives me a lot of encouragement because it tells me that some people read my blog closely, not skimming down the length of it but actually evaluating what I have to say.

Negative or positive, reactions boost my self esteem immensely, as a writer and as a person. Today someone gave a very backhanded compliment. He said, “You’ve kept your standard. Your writing is hasn’t deteriorated at all!” I was proud I felt not a flicker of annoyance! And that’s the best thing I’ve got out of my blog. An ability to see humor in everything, an ability to observe the details, a keener sense of the life I am living. For those of you who feel like life is a haze, try blogging! You might find you have something very worthwhile to say.

About ramblinginthecity

I am an architect and urban planner, a writer and an aspiring artist. I love expressing myself and feel strongly that cities should have spaces for everyone--rich, poor, young, old, healthy and sick, happy or depressed--we all need to work towards making our cities liveable and lovable communities.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Good show mam……Personally speaking, of course you may be very good as an architect, but more often I see you as very good journalist , who gives very frank and liberal opinions . You are a strong woman, I wish you could have pursued civil services after completion of your engineering , as you have so many good ideas in your mind , which you would have turned into a reality , as a collector of a district or for that matter anything in your jurisdiction . Nevertheless keep up your good job mam.

  2. Humor is the key to life. Can’t allow the small things to take you down. Wisdom in your words.

  3. Well done, Mukta! Here’s to the next 20,000 views!!

  4. Congratulations! 🙂

  5. I hope you keep it up even after completing a year of daily blogging, as was your original goal. Even with my irregular reads, I have come away inspired every time!

Leave a Reply

