Bhara hua lal mirch achaar.

I love the idea of sharing recipes via blogs and thise typical north Indian aachaar (pickle) is one of my hot favourite’s. Thanks Ma for sharing and for making this and sending us some 🙂

sitanaiksblog

With age, dwindling senses and increasingly limited mobility (not helped by the cold weather), food comes to play an important part of the daily routine. My mother, a good cook in her time, has abdicated from the kitchen and seldom interferes with the menu. But she is curious each day as to what is being prepared for lunch, has comments on the preparation and frequently reminisces about meals and recipes of the past. Recently, while discussing my trip to Lucknow, she remembered the stuffed red chilli pickle that my maid there used to make in the winters. And just a few days later, I saw these absolutely lovely red chillis in the vegetable market. So, I picked up some…….

The chillis sat around for a couple of days, with my mother prodding me that they would go bad. I had made this once before and vaguely remembered the ingredients, some…

View original post 223 more words

About ramblinginthecity

I am an architect and urban planner, a writer and an aspiring artist. I love expressing myself and feel strongly that cities should have spaces for everyone--rich, poor, young, old, healthy and sick, happy or depressed--we all need to work towards making our cities liveable and lovable communities.

Posted on January 2, 2014, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

