Unpredictable is the new normal

Monday morning. Tough workout to infuse energy into the week. Driving back juggling three phone calls. At home, there is suspense about whether the house help will turn up. Meetings requests are pinging up on my calendar. I nearly forget about breakfast.Thankfully, the kids went to school without event.

This is normal. My normal. And it’s going to be like this for the rest of my life. Deal with it, you moron!

How many of us, me included, go about our lives complaining about things that are perfectly normal? I wonder sometimes whether food toxins have been tampering with our levels of stress tolerance? Or is it just that the illusion of progress is also about expecting everything to me efficient, predictable and planned?

Maybe we need an intervention, something that helps us enhance our ability to be flexible. Something that trains our minds to think of constant fire fighting as the new normal. Unpredictability as the new schedule. It’s possible, I suppose. I’m working on it!

About ramblinginthecity

I am an architect and urban planner, a writer and an aspiring artist. I love expressing myself and feel strongly that cities should have spaces for everyone--rich, poor, young, old, healthy and sick, happy or depressed--we all need to work towards making our cities liveable and lovable communities.

Posted on February 24, 2014, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Let me know when you get that figured out!! I definitely need this ability!!

  2. Unpredictability has always been part of my existence and I have learned to go with the flow over the years. Guess, unpredictability is thy name:)

Leave a Reply

