The ‘I like” list! #Portobello Street market #London

I didn’t want to be the tickmark tourist on my recent visit to London. Of course I still ended up doing a bunch of touristy things, of which the most fun was our Saturday morning spent exploring Portobello market. We had been advised to get there real early if shopping was on the cards, but too much wine and excellent company the previous evening ruled out that possibility. So we ended up strolling out of Notting Hill Gate tube station mid morning, eager to experience the famous Portobello all-day market. Here’s my quick run-down of what I loved about it, with some of the zillion pictures I clicked that day!

1- If you’re a crowd hater, don’t go! I loved the hustle and bustle, the jostling… and even the irate look on the face of a well turned out Londoner that had “Bah! Tourists!” written all over it!

2- The colours of Notting Hill and Portobello are so not London. It’s like being transported to the Mediterranean in the middle of England! Pastels and bright colours on building facades make me smile indeed! And the random details too…

3- The antique market is the best bit here, in my opinion. I bought an original map of India, circa 1820 for 40 pounds, quite a steal (Tip: Cash begets discounts)! And just pottering around this section made my day!

4- Food haven, indeed. From crepes to paella, there was quite a spread if you had the appetite!

5- The sheer length of it. Portobello is never ending or so it seemed. Lots to see, lots to do, if you have the patience and the spirit. And if you’re not here to buy, it’s all the more enjoyable with that pressure off!

On our way there...

On our way there…

Typical!

Typical!

_DSC7816

_DSC7806

I would think those who live here think a lot about exterior paint shades!

I would think those who live here think a lot about exterior paint shades!

My co-explorers!

My co-explorers!

_DSC7818_DSC7820

Entertainment along the way...

Entertainment along the way…

_DSC7846

A touch of bizarre

A touch of bizarre

And the spooky... :)

And the spooky… 🙂

Lots of delightful antiques...

Lots of delightful antiques…

Anyone remembers the "Homemaker for a lifetime.." jingle?

Anyone remembers the “Homemaker for a lifetime..” jingle?

_DSC7863_DSC7868_DSC7894_DSC7895

And finally, just before I left, a spot of graffiti for good measure!

And finally, just before I left, a spot of graffiti for good measure!

About ramblinginthecity

I am an architect and urban planner, a writer and an aspiring artist. I love expressing myself and feel strongly that cities should have spaces for everyone--rich, poor, young, old, healthy and sick, happy or depressed--we all need to work towards making our cities liveable and lovable communities.

Posted on September 8, 2014, in Travel & Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Lovely pictures.. its been long since i been here..yiur pictures remind mw that it is time to visit again. .

  2. Love exploring Portobello thru your eyes…I had missed it …

  3. I loved looking through the many photos you included. It felt like I was there!

  4. Loove the pics of Portobello. I can see a fragrance of Mumbai, owing to the infrastructure:)

    • Thanks vishal! That area of London is very interesting… Mumbai I’m not sure. There are similarities but central London is far more similar with fort and other areas in south bombay. Will post some pics of what I mean as well!

  5. Interesting to see pictures of Portobello market. Have a wonderful blogging journey. http://www.digitaldimensions4u.com

  1. Pingback: Ramblings of the year gone by: Recap 2014 | ramblinginthecity

Leave a comment